Congratulations to Fran Quinn
Winner of the 2019
Stanley Kunitz Medal

Presented on Thursday, July 25, 2019
at the Worcester Historical Museum
30 Elm Street, Worcester

View the event broadside

Photos courtesty of John Gaumond.
Support WCPA


Wondering when your WCPA Membership expires? 
Contact us!

2019-2020 WCPA Board

Elizabeth Bacon
Robin Boucher, Treasurer
Therese Carr
Jim Cocola
Robert Cronin
Bob Gill, VP Programming
Carle Johnson
Jay Lavelle
Ann-Marie Lucci
Rodger Martin, President
Laura Menides
Kate McIntyre, Editor, The Worcester Review
Diane Mulligan, Secretary
Chris Reilley
Susan Roney-O’Brien
Karen Sharpe
Robert Steele

Worcester County Poetry Association
Established 1971
Worcester County Poetry Association / PO Box 804, Worcester, MA 01613 / 508-797-4770 /

WCPA Annual Meeting and Board Elections

On February 24, 2019, we held our annual meeting in the Bancroft Room at the First Unitarian Church in Worcester (our regular venue was unavailable due to construction).  After a short business meeting, where we discussed the past year and elected a new board of directors, we held an open poetry reading since our scheduled feature, Sebastian Lockwood, could not join us due to bad weather near his home in New Hampsire.

If you'd like to learn about what the WCPA did in 2018 please take a look at our Annual Report.
We've partnered with Square for our online store.
Photos by Robert Steele
Click the links below to go directly to the events of 2019     Annual MeetingCollege ContestStanley Kunitz Medal
12th Annual College Poetry Competition Finalists' Reading
Saturday, April 6, 2019       Worcester Popup, 20 Franklin Street, Worcester
The Nominees

Paula Kneeland, of Anna Maria College and Worcester, MA

Kate Brice, of Assumption College and Colchester, CT

Dani Black, of Clark University and Middleboro, MA

Amber John, of the College of Holy Cross and Austin, TX

Ariele Lee, of Fitchburg State University and Beverly, MA

Jesse Madore, of MCPHS and Salem, NH

Erica Gilman, of Worcester State University
   and North Brookfield, MA

Michael Clements, of WPI and Exeter, NH
Susan Roney-O'Brien
Ashley Wonder
Contest Chair
Craig Blais
Anna Maria College
Congratulations to the winners of the
2019 College Poetry Contest Reading

Etheridge Knight Performance Prize
Kate Brice of Assumption College
Amber John of the College of the Holy Cross (runner-up)

Elizabeth Bishop Manuscript Prize
Dani Black of Clark University
Ariele Lee of Fitchburg State University (runner-up)
2019 College Contest participants, judges, and chair.Contest chair Craig Blais kicks off the event.Judge Susan Roney-O'Brien reads a poem.Our second judge for 2019, Ashley Wonder, also reads a poem.Paula Kneeland, of Anna Maria College Kate Brice, of Assumption College Dani Black, of Clark UniversityAmber John, of the College of Holy CrossJesse Madore, of MCPHSErica Gilman, of Worcester State UniversityMichael Clements, of WPI Ann Lewis and Deb Ellstrom chat with Paula Kneeland of Anna Maria College during the reception.Michael Clements, of WPI, and a friend chat with Kate McIntyre, editor of The Worcester Review, during the break.Judges Ashley Wonder and Susan Roney-O'Brien confir with contest chair Craig Blais.WCPA president invites the participants to an upcoming event.
Photos courtesy of Robert Steele and Bob Gill
Mark Wagner provided music for the event.Fran Quinn (left) receives the Kunitz Medal from Rodger Martin, president of the WCPA and chairman of the Kunitz Medal committeeCarol Stockmal, Fran Quinn, and Rodger Martin.

The plaque on the chair lists the past recepients of the Kunitz Medal.  It is displayed at the Kunitz Boyhood Home, which Carol curates.The WCPA thanks Carol Stockmal for providing a celebratory cake each year for the event.Fran Quinn (right) with Carl Johnson, the 2017 Kunitz Medal recipient, and Judy Ferrara, the 2018 Kunitz Medal recipient.The Kuniz Medal committee with 2019 receipient, Fran Quinn.  

From left to right - Kent Ljungquist , Susan Elizabeth Sweeney, John Hodgen, Fran Quinn, Rodger Martin, and Karen Sharpe