Worcester County Poetry Association
Established 1971
Worcester County Poetry Association / PO Box 804, Worcester, MA 01613 / 508-797-4770 / wcpaboard@yahoo.com

2010 WCPA College Poetry Competition
Support WCPA


Wondering when your WCPA Membership expires? 
Contact us!
Eric Swedberg, Courtney Clark, Lauren Sylvia, Amy Lazarus, Emma Faye Siemasko, Lea Deschenes, Susan Roney O'Brien, Ian Williams
Emma Faye Siemasko, from Clark University, is a senior English major with a minor in History. She is editor of Clark University's literary magazine Caesura. Her favorite poet is Billy Collins.

Eric Swedberg is a student in the World Languages department at Worcester State College. He teaches languages in Auburn and is the head baseball coach for the high school. He is married with two children and is in the process of finding a home for a manuscript.

Jared Carrasco studies chemistry at the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences.

Courtney Clark is a junior at Fitchburg State College, majoring in Early Childhood Education with a minor in English. Her poetic influences include E.E. Cummings, Emily Dickinson, Sharon Olds, Marge Piercy, Sylvia Plath, and Anne Sexton.

Amy Lazarus is a senior at the College of the Holy Cross. Next year she hopes to enter graduate school for a Master’s Degree in Library Sciences with a specialization in archives and records management.

Carl Rasmussen is the Worcester County College Poetry Competition finalist from Quinsigamond Community College.

Sabrina Sanchez is a biology major at Worcester Polytechnic Institute. Biology has always been of interest to her, like basketball and making people laugh, but her passion is writing poetry. Writing poetry has been a part of her life for many, many years now and is her primary way of self-expression. She has been inspired by ongoing experiences, music, and people. One of the most influential people in her life was her father who passed away.

Lauren Silvia is the Worcester County College Poetry Competition finalist from Assumption College. She uses poetry to channel her emotions, thoughts, and insights.  She believes good poetry produces feelings of recognition in its readers, which is why she is most inspired by Robert Frost and Mary Oliver.

The judges are Susan Roney-O’Brien, winner of the William and Kingman Page Poetry Book Award for her chapbook, Farmwife, and an editor of The Worcester Review, and Lea C. Deschenes, author of The Constant Velocity of Trains and thirteen chapbooks of poetry.

Winner for Poetry Manuscript
Emma Faye Siemasko
Clark University
Faculty Sponsor: Susan Edwards Richmond

Honorable Mention for Poetry Manuscript
Jared Carrasco
Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Faculty Sponsor: Mary Buchinger Bodwell

Winner for Poetry Performance
Eric Swedberg
Worcester State College
Faculty Sponsor: Jonathan Blake
2010 WCPA College Poetry Competition
Sunday, April 11, 2010
Worcester Public Library

Contest Judges:
Susan Roney O'Brien
Lea C. Deschenes

Contest Coordinator: Ian Williams

Contest winners recieve a cash prize and a one year WCPA membership. The winning poem of the manuscript prize receives publication in The Worcester Review.
All finalists will be published in Route 2, the literary journal of Fitchburg State College.
We've partnered with Square for our online store.